University Studies

There are seven schools at university level run in Iceland. These schools are the following:

The University of Iceland
The University of Iceland was established on the 17th June, 1911, the one-hundredth anniversary of the birth of Jón Sigurðsson. For the first 29 years it was housed in the Alþingi House by Austurvöllur. In 1940, the University was relocated to the university building on Suðurgata.
    With the founding of the University of Iceland, the Clerical College, Medical School and Law School joined to each form a faculty of the university and, in addition, the Faculty of Humanities was added. Later, more faculties were added and in the summer of 2008 Iceland University of Education was combined with The University of Iceland. Today the University has five academic schools, and 25 faculties. In addition, there are about 80 research centres at the University.
    It is now possible to complete about 400 different final exams at the University of Iceland, and each year there are about 3000 individual subjects offered by the University.
    About 13.000 students are enrolled at the University of Iceland, thereof about 500 doctoral students. Permanent teachers and other staff, including the staff of institutions, number ca. 1500, and 2400 part-time teachers also work at the University.

The University of Akureyri
The University of Akureyri commenced teaching in 1987 with instruction in two streams: industry and nursing. The University now offers a varied selection of study programmes leading to the first university degree together with advanced studies in a few disciplines.

Reykjavík University
Reykjavík University began teaching in September 1998 under the name of The Commercial College of Reykjavík. In January 2000, the name of the college was changed to Reykjavík University. The University offers around 50 study programmes in four faculties.

Iceland Academy of the Arts
The Iceland Academy of the Arts offers degree programs and is comprised of five departments: the Department of Arts Education, the Department of Design and Architecture, the Department of Fine Arts, the Department of Music and the Department of Performing Arts.

Bifröst University
Bifröst University offers both undergraduate and graduate programs in three academic departments, Business, Law and Social Sciences. About 600 students are studying at Bifröst.

Háskólinn á Hólum - Hólar College
Hólar College is a research, development and educational institution. It has three departments: Aquaculture, Equine Studie and Rural Tourism.

 The Agricultural University of Iceland     
The Agricultural University of Iceland is an educational and research institution in the field of agriculture and environmental sciences. The school awards B.Sc. and M.Sc degrees in these fields  as well as providing vocational and continuing education.

An Increase in the Value of Continuing Education
Rapid changes in all aspects of society have resulted in a constant increase in the value of continuing education. It is now common for people to look for courses of various kinds after formal study has finished, be that in their field of work or in an area of interest. Courses are offered under the supervision of the University of Iceland’s Institute of Continuing Education, as well as the various subjects run by amateur or hobby schools, associations, and private institutions.